E.E. Cummings – anyone lived in a pretty how town

Published April 29, 2013 by Jill London

Hear E.E. Cummings read his famous poem “anyone lived in a pretty how town”.

anyone lived in a pretty how town
(with up so floating many bells down)
spring summer autumn winter
he sang his didn’t he danced his did.
Women and men(both little and small)
cared for anyone not at all
they sowed their isn’t they reaped their same
sun moon stars rain
children guessed(but only a few
and down they forgot as up they grew
autumn winter spring summer)
that noone loved him more by more
when by now and tree by leaf
she laughed his joy she cried his grief
bird by snow and stir by still
anyone’s any was all to her
someones married their everyones
laughed their cryings and did their dance
(sleep wake hope and then)they
said their nevers they slept their dream
stars rain sun moon
(and only the snow can begin to explain
how children are apt to forget to remember
with up so floating many bells down)
one day anyone died i guess
(and noone stooped to kiss his face)
busy folk buried them side by side
little by little and was by was
all by all and deep by deep
and more by more they dream their sleep
noone and anyone earth by april
wish by spirit and if by yes.
Women and men(both dong and ding)
summer autumn winter spring
reaped their sowing and went their came
sun moon stars rain

E.E. Cummings, “[anyone lived in a pretty how town]” from Complete Poems 1904-1962, edited by George J. Firmage.

For an interesting note about the poet’s infamous use of punctuation and capitalization take a look at this: http://www.gvsu.edu/english/cummings/caps.htm

12 comments on “E.E. Cummings – anyone lived in a pretty how town

    • That is so kind of you, Ajay! I have just been nominated for a second sunshine award this week from PigLove so today, this whole week, has been incredibly special for me! Thank-you so much for thinking of me, my friend! xxx

      • thank you dear

        I daily see you on my blog and you are so kind to give me all the support and encouragement, so this is just a token of gratitude

      • thank you dear

        the thing is there are so many followers so I cant go on individual blog what ever I see in the reader that’s all

        So I am sorry I could not visit you blog but this humble token of gratitude

    • I have this idea at the back of my mind that I want to post about all those things that I’ve discovered for myself in recent years. I first discovered poetry properly (and E.E. Cummings specifically) when I returned to learning as a mature student. One of my teachers had a real love of Mr Cummings’s work and so, through my teacher’s appreciation, I learned to appreciate! I suppose in some ways I’m using this blog as a record of what I’m learning 🙂 and of course I’m learning new stuff through the blogosphere. The underwater statues I posted on recently I learned about through Hauntedshoreline for example.
      I’m so glad you’re enjoying it all anyway!

      • I used to be a structured student and this is the second time in a week I have been reminded of how much I enjoyed that role. By reading and being curious enough to follow links I hope I can reclaim that label.

      • Our wonderful planet is one big school. There’s a lot to learn in the school of life, and having an open mind and heart to receive it is our greatest achievement 🙂 I hope you have a lot of fun along the way, Paula! xx

  • Over to you (I love to hear from you)

